Le Prix Louis Malassis

Louis MALASSIS International Scientific Prize for agriculture and food

The Prize is a tribute to Prof. Louis Malassis (1918-2007), an esteemed French educator, agronomist and agro-economist. He was an ardent supporter of farmers' cause and founder of Agropolis.
More >


Agropolis Fondation created the Louis MALASSIS International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food in order to recognize individuals, or a group of individuals, for their exemplary and promising contribution in promoting innovation through research, development and capacity building in the North, South or in the Mediterranean Region in order to improve food and agricultural systems sustainability as well as contribute to addressing food security and poverty reduction.

The Prize consists of the following categories:

·     Louis Malassis Distinguished Scientist Prize is conferred to an outstanding scientist, or a group of scientists who has made significant contribution in the field covered by the Prize through his/her (or their collective) work.

·     Louis Malassis Young Promising Scientist Prize is giventoa young individual, or a group of young scientists, who has carried out original and promising work in the field covered by the Prize.

·     Louis Malassis Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prize is awarded toa person still in activity whose professional career is devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, innovation, development or policy.


This Prize complements the Louis Malassis Literary Prize given by the "Association Paroles de paysans du monde".

The winner in each category will receive € 20,000.

Application is open to all stakeholders from the academic or research organization (private or public), a civil society organization (e.g., NGO, farmers organizations), or a private sector (e.g., small/medium enterprises).

Meet 2010 Awardees
 Meet 2012 Awardees 
Meet 2015 Awardees

Download: Guidelines Louis Malassis Prize  
Download: Application Form Louis Malassis Prize
Contact: malassis-prize2015@agropolis.fr


Charter members                                                                     In partnership with



In celebration of its 25th anniversary year, Olam International is launching this prize to address global food security through agricultural innovation and the development of sustainable supply chains


Olam Prize
for Innovation in Food Security

This year, global agri-business Olam International partners with Agropolis Fondation in launching the inaugural Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security, which will be judged and awarded in conjunction with the Louis Malassis prizes.

Open to individuals or research teams, the Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security aims to recognize an outstanding innovation for its potential impact on the availability, affordability, accessibility or adequacy of food, as well as to support its further development.

The winner will receive a total of US$ 50,000 (US$15,000 as a personal award and US$35,000 as a grant for further research).

Olam International is a leading agri-business operating across the value chain in 65 countries. From first procuring cashews in Nigeria 25 years ago, it has evolved to having a direct sourcing and processing presence in most major producing countries working with smallholder and contract farmers, as well as having its own farms and plantations. Olam now holds leadership positions in products including rice, cocoa, coffee, spices and vegetable ingredients, and edible nuts.


Download: Guidelines Olam Prize   
Download: Application Form Olam Prize  
Contact: malassis-prize2015@agropolis.fr


Winners will be selected by an international jury constituted
by the president of the Foundation.


Photo: JF Roche