Agropolis Fondation

Prix scientifique international "Louis Malassis"




The Prize is a tribute to Prof. Louis Malassis (1918-2007), an esteemed French educator, agronomist and agro-economist. He was an ardent supporter of farmers' cause and founder of Agropolis.
More >


2017 Agropolis Fondation Louis Malassis
International Scientific Prize for Agriculture
and Food 

Agropolis Fondation created the Louis MALASSIS International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food in order to recognize individuals, or a group of individuals, for their exemplary and promising contribution in promoting innovation through research, development and capacity building in the North, South or in the Mediterranean Region in order to improve food and agricultural systems sustainability as well as contribute to addressing food security and poverty reduction.

The Prize consists of the following categories:

·     Louis Malassis Distinguished Scientist Prize is conferred to an outstanding scientist, or a group of scientists who has made significant contribution in the field covered by the Prize through his/her (or their collective) work.

·     Louis Malassis Young Promising Scientist Prize is giventoa young individual, or a group of young scientists, who has carried out original and promising work in the field covered by the Prize.

·     Louis Malassis Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prize is awarded toa person still in activity whose professional career is devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, innovation, development or policy.

This Prize complements the Louis Malassis Literary Prize given by the "Association Paroles de paysans du monde".

The winner in each category will receive € 20,000. Application is open to all stakeholders from an academic or research organization (private or public), a civil society organization (e.g., NGOs, farmers organizations), or the private sector (e.g., small/medium enterprises).

DEADLINE EXTENDED until 12 February 2017, 11:59 PM (CET, France)

Meet 2010 Awardees
Meet 2012 Awardees
Meet 2015 Awardees

Download: Guidelines Louis Malassis Prize  
Click here to apply:   


Launched in 2015
to commemorate Olan International's 25th anniversary year, the Olam Prize promotes and supports solutions for global food security from groundbreaking scientific research projects. 


2017 Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security

The Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security recognizes an innovative scientific research project for its potential impact on the availability, affordability, accessibility or adequacy of food and the UN's Sustainable Development Goal #2: End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.  

The winning research project will receive US$ 50,000. The Prize is open to ground-breaking scientific research projects from academic or scientific reseach instituions, civil societies and the private sector; and can focus on any region, environment, crop or part of the supply chain.  

Olam International is a leading agri-business operating across the value chain in 70 countries. In 2016, Fortune recognized Olam among the Top 50 companies in its "Change the World" list for its work with smallholder farmers. 


DEADLINE EXTENDED until 12 February 2017, 11:59 PM (CET, France)

Download: Guidelines Olam Prize   
Click here to apply: