Home / Actions supported / Programmes / The Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize

The Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize

Prix scientifique international

  • Agricultural system

This Prize, awarded every two years, is aimed at recognising individuals who have made an exemplary contribution, through their training, research or development actions, to promoting innovations that improve sustainable agricultural and food production systems and thereby help to address the challenges of food security and poverty eradication.

The prize has three categories:

  • the “Distinguished Scientist” category
  • the “Young Promising Scientist” category
  • the “Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development” category

The first award ceremony was held in 2010 during the GCARD (Global Conference on Agricultural Research for Development), which took place in Montpellier in March 2010. As with the first edition, the Prizes for the second edition were awarded during the Global Conference on Agricultural Research for Development, held in Uruguay (GCARD 2012, 29-31 October).

The third edition of the Louis Malassis Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food was held in Montpellier during the third Global Science Conference on Climate-Smart Agriculture (CSA) in March 2015 while the 4th one was held in Milan during the eighth International Forum on Food and Nutrition, in December 2017. Winners of the 5th edition received their Prize during the 4th World Congress on Agroforestry in May 2019, in Montpellier.

Prix Louis Malassis 2019