Home / The Foundation / Governance


The Foundation’s «governance» is built on four statutory bodies:

  • the Executive Board;
  • the Executive Committee of the Board ("Bureau");
  • the Science Council (SC);
  • the Group of Research Unit Directors.

Agropolis Fondation is governed by an Executive Board, which decides on the Foundation’s development policy, its long-term objectives and its partnerships. It is made up of 17 members representing its charter members, its research units, the Occitanie Region, its private partners, and qualified persons. They bring a broad spectrum of knowledge to the Foundation and have extensive experience in the fields of research, higher education and international cooperation.

An Executive Committeee of six members - five members of the Board plus the Foundation’s Director - manages the current issues of the Foundation.

Membres du CA septembre 2022

The Foundation’s Science Council is made up of 12 leading scientists (50% French; 50% international) with proven expertise in the field of research and higher education in agricultural sciences and with experience in and knowledge of issues in both the North and the South.

The SC provides advice on key scientific approaches and strategic actions the Foundation and its scientific network may pursue. It provides recommendations and suggestions on research, higher education and partnership actions that can be supported by the Foundation. It is also involved in the monitoring of the Foundation and its scientific network’s activities.

To learn more about the Science council members, please click on the pictures below.

The Group of Scientific Unit Directors fosters consultation between the units in order to develop a concerted strategy, collaborative projects and proposals.

The 41 Unit Directors of the Foundation’s scientific network lead research conducted by around 1 600 scientists and 900 PhD students. They are involved in the initiation and implementation of research projects, as well as in the development of international collaborations and partnerships.


Carine Karailiev, Director

Mylène Aycard-Gueydan, General Secretary