Home / Partners / Programmes / International Scientific Prizes 2021

International Scientific Prizes 2021

Louis Malassis Prize by Agropolis Fondation, Olam Prize and SHIFT Prize by Biovision

The International Scientific Prizes Louis Malassis, Olam and Shift, are not renewed for the period 2022-2023-2024.

The 2021 winners

The best of research for the agro-ecological transition

We were very pleased to receive the laureates of the International Scientific Prizes in Montpellier for a presentation of their work.

Award ceremony:

Winners of the 2021 edition of the Louis Malassis Prize, Olam Food Prize and Shift Prize.

The Agropolis Fondation - Louis Malassis Prize, awarded every two years, is aimed at recognising individuals who have made an exemplary contribution, through their training, research or development actions, to promoting innovations that improve sustainable agricultural and food production systems and thereby help to address the challenges of food security and poverty eradication.

The prize has three categories:

  • the “Distinguished Scientist” category.
  • the “Young Promising Scientist” category.
  • the “Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development” category.

It can be awarded equally to individuals or groups of researchers comprising 3 people max.

The first award ceremony was held in 2010 during the GCARD (Global Conference on Agricultural Research for Development), which took place in Montpellier in March 2010. As with the first edition, the Prizes for the second edition were awarded during the Global Conference on Agricultural Research for Development, held in Uruguay (GCARD 2012, 29-31 October).

Since 2015, Agropolis Fondation has partnered with Olam, and the Malassis prizes are awarded along with the Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security.

The third edition of the Louis Malassis Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food, along with Olam Prize was held in Montpellier during the third Global Science Conference on Climate-Smart Agriculture (CSA) in March 2015 while the 4th one was held in Milan during the eighth International Forum on Food and Nutrition, in December 2017. Winners of the 5th edition received their Prize during the 4th World Congress on Agroforestry in May 2019, in Montpellier.

Malassis and Olam prizes Ceremony 2019

2021 edition will aquire a new dimension, as Agropolis Fondation and Olam have now partnered with Biovision Foundation for ecological development. Three prizes will be awarded in 2021:

  • Agropolis Fondation - Louis Malassis Prize (3 categories)
  • Olam Prize for innovation in Food Security
  • Shift Prize for transformative agroecological research for development (Biovision Foundation)

More information

Discover below the interviews of the laureats of the Louis Malassis Prize.

Linked partners